Missouri Title borrowers will share in $5M settlement #, #missouri #title #loans, #erich #vieth, #arbitration


#

Missouri Title borrowers will share in $5M settlement

Borrowers would get more than $5 million under a new settlement in a lawsuit that challenged the behavior of a major title loan company and went to the U.S. Supreme Court three times.

In the midst of the fight, the Missouri Supreme Court struck down as “unconscionable” a provision in loan agreements that prohibited class action lawsuits. Such provisions are common and controversial, and other courts have upheld them.

The settlement with Missouri Title Loans of Springfield also includes $575,000 for the attorneys who brought the suit, including Erich Vieth and John Campbell of St. Louis. The deal is awaiting final approval in St. Louis Circuit Court.

Title loan companies lend money secured by the title on the borrower’s car. The loans are generally made for short periods of time at high interest rates. If borrowers can’t pay by the deadline, they often renew the loan by paying another large interest charge.

According to the suit, filed in 2007, Beverly Brewer borrowed $2,215 at an interest rate of $537 per month from a Missouri Title office on St. Charles Rock Road. After two payments, totaling $1,147, she found that the original loan amount hadn’t fallen at all.

Another borrower, Althea Peete, was supporting herself and a teenager on $724 per month. At a south St. Louis office, Missouri Title lent her $608. After paying “mandatory fees,” she left the office with only $500, the suit alleged, but owed the $794 the following month.

Missouri law on title loans says that the principal amount must be reduced by 10 percent with each renewal. Lenders must also assess the borrower’s ability to repay and give certain notices, including the right to cancel the loan within a day of taking it out. The lawsuit charged that Missouri Title did none of that. Title lenders often structure the loans under a separate “small loan” law with lesser consumer protections.

The major court battle, however, centered on provisions in the loan agreement saying that disputes must be settled in arbitration, not in court, and forbidding “class action” arbitrations.

The Missouri Supreme Court threw out that provision, opening the courtroom doors. The court reasoned that no lawyer would take a case involving such a small loan and that without class actions, borrowers would have no way to seek redress.

In a class action, lawyers argue that a few plaintiffs can bring a suit representing thousands of people in the same situation. That multiplies both the risk for the company being sued and the potential payout for the plaintiffs’ attorneys.

Missouri Title appealed the decision to the U.S. Supreme Court. At first, the U.S. Supreme Court ordered the Missouri court to reconsider its decision in light of a high court decision that favored arbitration requirements.

The Missouri court reaffirmed its own decision, and the federal high court twice declined to intervene.

Vieth doubted whether the Missouri court’s ruling on class action arbitrations can automatically apply to other loan companies, because it centered on the language of the Missouri Title loans.

Martin Green, attorney for Missouri Title, said more than 5,000 borrowers would receive refunds totaling more than $5 million.

People who defaulted on loans at least three years old will find all finance charges forgiven. The company will forgive 25 percent of finance charges on defaulted loans less than three years old, and one-third of one month’s charge on loans that are current. Borrowers who have repaid their loans will get a free month’s interest on a new loan.


Home Page, court reporter san antonio.#Court #reporter #san #antonio


#

Court Reporting Schools The 10 most important questions you should ask court reporting schools.

Superior, Affordable, Faster, Easier

Call 877 253 0200 or CLICK HERE

QUESTIONS OF THE MONTH.

1. Is it really necessary to attend an accredited, NCRA-certified school that offers an Associate’s Degree?

  • There is no requirement in any state to attend an accreditated or NCRA approved court reporting school.
  • A large number of the most successful court reporters, captioners, and CART Providers in the professions today did not attend NCRA approved or accredited schools and have no degree.
  • Approximately 200 accredited, degree granting court reporting schools have closed for various reasons since 1999. About 100 of these were NCRA-approved schools.
  • One of the largest accredited, NCRA-approved schools in the country, with branches in three states, ceased enrolling students last year.
  • Accreditation, Associate’s Degrees, and NCRA approval are not a reliable measure of the overall stability of a school or the quality of education of the court reporting school.
  • The determining factor used by potential employers is RPR certification from the National Court Reporters Association or a state certification if required, not where or how you received your training.
  • Most degree-granting institutions base the length of training on 2-1/2 years. However, statistics indicate most graduates take longer than that, often up to 4 to 7 years.
  • Some of these degree-granting colleges are proprietary schools whose credits will not transfer to a real college or university.
  • For more detailed information read questions 5 and 6 at bottom of page.

2. What is Theory? Is Theory an Important Consideration for My Court Reporting, Captioning, or CART Training?

Theory is the most important component for all realtime training! The theory you learn will determine the accuracy and quality of your realtime translation, how quickly you build speed, and ultimately will be the determining factor in how successful you are as a realtime court reporter, captioner, or CART Provider!

includes one of a kind full studio produced video tutorials, color coded theory manual, and audio drills on CRAH’s technologically superior multimedia platform.

COURT REPORTING AND CAPTIONING AT HOME. THE LEADER IN REALTIME COURT REPORTING, CAPTIONING, and CART PROVIDING ONLINE EDUCATION!

COURT REPORTING and CAPTIONING AT HOME is a COMPREHENSIVE REALTIME PROGRAM with ALL NECESSARY ACADEMICS, INCLUDING LEGAL TERMINOLOGY, MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY, ENGLISH, SPELLING, GRAMMAR, TRANSCRIPT PRODUCTION. ALL REQUIRED ACADEMICS FOR CERTIFICATION ARE INCLUDED IN THIS TREND SETTING PROGRAM.

Court reporter san antonio

Court reporter san antonio

What is the court reporting school’s attrition rate and graduation rate?

1. How long does court reporting school take?

While most court reporting schools base their programs on 24 to 30 months, studies by the National Court Reporters Association and independent research show very few students actually graduate in that length of time, with most taking 3 to 5 years or longer. Court reporting colleges and traditional court reporting schools emphasize non-essentials such as Associate degrees, accreditation, and academics not relative to court reporting which contribute to this inordinate length of time for graduation. Ask the court reporting school what the average length of time for graduation is, not what the program is based on.

2. How much does court reporting school cost?

Traditional for profit court reporting schools’ tuition costs range from $25,000 to $57,000. You may be surprised to learn that these colleges of court reporting and court reporting schools have 85% to 90% dropout rates and average graduation rates of 2 to 14 percent. Many factors contribute to these court reporting colleges’ and schools’ high tuition costs including but not limited to large administrative staffs consisting of financial aid officers, commissioned admissions representatives, deans and other administrators that are rarely from the court reporting professions and rarely are credentialed court reporters themselves. Most of these court reporting colleges and schools are owned by corporations with no affiliation to court reporters or court reporting education and often confer an Occupational Associate’s Degree that will not transfer to an actual college or university. Bear in mind, no degree is required for any of the careers of court reporting, broadcast (closed) captioning, or CART providing.

Community colleges cost substantially less than for profit or proprietary court reporting schools, but are also rarely staffed by credentialed court reporters and require non-essential academics and Associate’s Degrees that once again are not required for any of these three careers.

The Court Reporting and Captioning at Home training program is affordable and owned and staffed by credentialed court reporters, captioners, or CART Providers. Learn More

Theory is the foundation of your training. Theory is learning to write on the steno machine. Most court reporting schools teach outdated, stroke intensive theories that have not been updated to stay abreast with the court reporting and captioning softwares of today. This sounds boring and technical, but according to the NCRA (National Court Reporters Association) Future Group report, it is not necessary to have such complex theories, and these complex, outdated theories contribute to the low graduation rates and high attrition rates court reporting schools experience. While these theories have not been successful in traditional court reporting schools, they have even less success in court reporting online programs.

Court Reporting, Closed Captioning, and CART Providing are unlike any other careers. To be taught by someone who has never attained a minimum of the RPR credentials is not acceptable. Credentials such as the CRI (Certified Reporting Instructor) or CLVS (Certified Legal Video Specialist) are nice, but that does not mean they are court reporters themselves. Any court reporting school instructor should hold the minimum of the RPR to teach or dictate in any court reporting or closed captioning class. Many instructors in colleges of court reporting and schools are dropouts or graduates unable to pass state certification exams. Your instructors should at least hold the state credential they expect you to obtain.

IMPORTANT NOTE! When researching the career of court reporting it should be noted that other terms commonly used to refer to court reporters are, court recorder, court recorders, court stenographer, court stenographers, and stenographer.

10. Does the court reporting school or court reporting college train you for realtime court reporting, closed captioning, and CART Providing?

The Court Reporting and Captioning at Home program has the ability to train the student simultaneously for all three realtime careers, realtime court reporting, closed captioning, and CART Providing, or for any one of the realtime careers separately. The Realtime Reporting and Captioning Theory taught exclusively by CRAH is the only NCRA approved theory developed specifically for distance education, and containing a realtime court reporting, closed captioning, and CART Providing foundation.


Second dui offense #dane #county, #wi,owi, #dui, #dwi, #dwi, #dui, #drunk #driving, #procedure, #owi #treatment


#

This page is about the counting of alcohol offenses in Wisconsin when charging OWI / DUI / DWI cases. If you are looking for information about the DUI / OWI Treatment Court in Dane County, or court process for criminal DUI / OWI cases in Dane County you should go to those pages instead.

DUI / OWI (Drunk Driving) Math inWisconsin

Criminal Cases that depend on how you count

In Wisconsin all drunk driving charges after the first one are criminal charges handled in Circuit Court. First offense cases are not charged as crimes unless there is a minor in the car or there is an injury. Both criminal and civil drunk driving charges can have profound consequences. This page is about what counts and does not count as a prior conviction. It may surprise you.

Which things are counted as prior offenses is listed, confusingly, in Sec. 343.307, Wisconsin Statutes. Penalties (and classification as non-criminal/misdemeanor/felony) is determined by the penalty provisions in Sec. 346.65, Wisconsin Statutes .

Further, the timing and sequence of arrests and convictions can matter.

Civil Cases – First Offense

First Offense OWI / DUI is not treated as a crime in Wisconsin unless there is a child in the vehicle or someone is injured. That does not mean it is treated lightly. First offense OWI / DUI in Wisconsin often results in more significant penalties than in other states that treat this as a crime. However, the procedures are a little different in non-criminal cases and many different courts can hear such cases. If you have never been arrested or cited or in court for an OWI / DUI / Drunk Driving you are treated as a first offender. Except if as an underage drinker you were convicted of an absolute sobriety violation in another state that will count as a prior conviction.

Any one incident more than ten years ago will not count, but more than one will count. That is if a driver had one prior in May of 1989 a charge in June of 1999 (or 2010) counted as first offense. However if the driver had the May 1989 and the June 1999 offenses (both treated as first offenses) and then another in 2010, the 2010 charge would not be a first offense or second offense but a criminal third offense for court purposes. Again, you can have two first offenses more than ten years apart but not three. The look-back period for a any offense after the second is January 1, 1989. The look-back period to determine if a second actual offense is charged as a second offense is ten years, date of offense to date of offense.

No offenses before January 1, 1989 are counted.

Out of State Charges Are Different – Usually in a bad way!

The following are counted as prior convictions in Wisconsin when they occurred in a different state – even if they would not count in the original state:

  1. Refusing to take a chemical test
  2. A deferred prosecution for OWI / DUI / Drunk Driving / Drugged Driving that did not result in a conviction
  3. Operating as an underage drinker you were convicted of an absolute sobriety violation (would not count if in Wisconsin)
  4. A conviction for OWI / DUI / Drunk Driving / Drugged Driving

Some offenses in or out of Wisconsin are not counted!

Some prior convictions are not counted if proper procedures were not followed. This is a complex determination and requires analysis of all relevant records by an experienced attorney. For instance in one of the cases handled by our office a case originally charged as a third offense was properly revised to be a first offense.

Examples of counting

Example 1 – 3rd offense following two first offenses

Fifth Offense – Felony

Note, this is the same as example 6 except for the date of the second offense and conviction. The fourth offense conviction (third charged) was within 5 years of the second offense and the offense was within 5 years following the second offense conviction. The fourth charge was counted as a third because at the date of conviction there were only two earlier convictions. The third charge was counted as a fourth because at the date of conviction there were three convictions counted.

Example 8 – Out-of-state deferral without conviction

Note: State v. Carter . 2010 WI 132 (Dec. 2, 2010) decided saying that the Illinois absolute sobriety suspension counts as a prior offense. This does not necessarily apply to all out-of-state absolute sobriety convictions. Read the case!

IID Requirement (Ignition Interlock Device) – one more wrinkle on counting

Repeat Offenses

An IID is required for all second or subsequent offenses, even if the offense would be counted as a first offense for other penalty purposes. Village of Grafton v. Seatz . 2014 WI App 23 (Jan. 29, 2014). But, see DMV OWI Penalty Chart .

This is true even if none of the offenses involved alcohol. (No one ever said that the laws had to make sense.)

More Serious First Offenses

If there is an alcohol level of .15 or higher (at the time of the offense). Note: The alcohol reading on the evidentiary breath test may be higher than the alcohol level was at the time of the offense! Also, these machines are not calibrated to measure at the .15 level. Talk to a drunk driving defense lawyer!

If there was an unlawful refusal to take an evidentiary test that is specified in the Wisconsin Implied Consent law.

Can last longer than the revocation even if ordered for the same length of time – usually will last longer!

If an 18-month revocation period and an 18-month IID requirement are both imposed, do they end at the same time? Usually not. The revocation period gives credit for any period of administrative suspension (up to six months). In addition, the revocation period runs out once the time is up. The IID requirement does not start running until the driver has a license (occupational or regular).

Applies to all cars owned or driven, whether or not an owned car can even run!

If the DMV has record of the driver owning a vehicle, even if it has been junked or is undrivable, the driver will be required by the DMV to install an IID in it unless the vehicle is exempted by the Court.

Warning – Use at your own risk.

This page is not intended to be legal advice or substitute for legal advice. It is intended to provide general information. Legal advice can only be given with a full understanding of the actual facts of a case, generally in a face-to-face consultation. Note that there are exceptions to many of the statements made on this page. No one should act or refrain from acting based on anything stated in this web page. My office does not give legal advice to non-clients over the phone or internet. Further, the law (and procedures) in drunk driving cases are changing rapidly. This page reflects procedures in place in Wisconsin on January 1, 2014. In this session of the legislature, the Assembly has passed bills that would change many things stated on this page; those changes have not been adopted by the Senate, yet.

DUI / OWI Wisconsin – How this office approaches DUI / OWI cases. The need for an assessment and / or treatment along with competent legal assistance is discussed.

DUI / OWI Field Sobriety Tests in Wisconsin – A look at what field sobriety tests are – and are not – in Wisconsin.

DUI / OWI (Drunk Driving) Wisconsin Ten Day Warning – Why a defendant needs to take action before the court process even gets going.

DUI / OWI Treatment Court – an option that must be considered in Dane County for some third-offense cases

Wisconsin Judicial Sentencing Guidelines for OWI / DUI / Drunk Driving cases by County. Each judicial district has different guidelines.

Click on images above for larger view This page last revised: 09 Feb 2017 17:43:51 -0600.

Email Warning (links below)

By clicking on a button or link below you will be attempting to send an email to the office of Attorney Charles Kyle Kenyon. We do not give legal advice or opinions to non-clients over the phone, the Internet, or by email. Sending an email to us does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential information should not be sent by email. Do not expect that information sent us will be kept secret. If your email is about a legal matter please restrict your email to:

  1. Your name address and phone number.
  2. The County involved.
  3. A time when it would be convenient for someone from this office to contact you and set up a time for you to consult with an attorney.

Clicking on the button or link below means you have read the above and agree to keep any communication about legal matters within these limits.

Copyright 1997-2017 Charles Kyle Kenyon. Madison, Wisconsin, all rights reserved.

This is a living hypertext document. If you find any errors, of fact or in links, please contact me so that they may be corrected. Please also write to me for permission to copy. You can reach me at lawyer at Add Balance.

Note: NO email is sent from this domain. If you receive any email with a domain name of addbalance.com. it is spam and not from me!

The name of this file is duimath.htm.


Copies of Bankruptcy Documents #chapter #7 #bankruptcy,chapter #13 #bankruptcy,bankruptcy #court, #illinois, #bankruptcy #rules


#

Copies of Bankruptcy Documents

Copies of bankruptcy documents can be obtained in a variety of ways depending on when the case was filed and/or closed.

Beginning with 1998 cases and forward, copies of bankruptcy and adversary case documents are available through our electronic case filing system (ECF). Case documents can be viewed and printed from your computer. To access the information, you must have a PACER account. If you do not have a PACER account/password you can register for one on-line by clicking here http://pacer.psc.uscourts.gov/ No fee is owed until you accrue more that $10 of PACER usage in a quarterly billing cycle.

Once you have established an account and have your password you can access your case information in CM/ECF.

For copies of documents in older bankruptcy records (pre- 1998) for which there is no electronic record, only paper. you may obtain copies by contacting the Federal Records Center (FRC). You can either go to FRC, or you can request copies by mail.
Please click on the link below for more information.

You will need the following case information before contacting the FRC. To obtain this information for cases filed and closed in the Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division (Chicago) please call 312-408-5000, Western Division (Rockford) 815- 987- 4350. Without this information the FRC will not be able to locate the case files you request.

FRC Accession Number
FRC Location Number
Box Number
Case File Number
Case File Name

Please call our customer service number at 312-408-5000 if you need further assistance.


Chicago, Illinois Nursing Home Abuse Lawyers – Ring Litigation P #chicago #nursing #home #abuse #lawyers,


#

Chicago Nursing Home Abuse Lawyers

Nursing Home Lawyers Serving all of Illinois

You and your family reach the wrenching conclusion that you have to put your loved one in a nursing home. Mom or Dad can no longer live by themselves safely. You ask your friends and colleagues what they know about nursing homes in Chicago. You go online and carefully read the descriptions about the facility and the staff of each nursing home you hear about. You want just the right place to care for your loved one so they are well cared for.

After much deliberation, you choose a nursing home. You help your loved one pack up the house and move into the home. You breathe a much-deserved sigh of relief and plan out your visits.

Everything is fine for a while. Your loved one is adjusting and beginning to talk about new friends. In fact, your loved one talks a lot about one new friend in particular, someone on the nursing home staff. But soon you begin to notice bruises on your loved one. The last time you visited, your loved one was incoherent and the check book was out on the table.

You begin to suspect something is not right.

Where can you turn?

Nursing home abuse and neglect is against the law

Federal and Illinois laws protect the elderly from abuse, mistreatment, and neglect in nursing homes or by caregivers in private homes. The law also dictates the process for reporting and investigating claims of abuse. A nursing home abuse lawyer in Chicago can provide you with sound legal advice with your family’s best interest in mind.

Trial lawyers who know how to get past the lies

At Ring Litigation P.C. our experienced trial lawyers know how to ferret out the facts. We know how to bring charges against those responsible for neglect and abuse, including theft. And as litigators, we are always prepared to take your suit to trial. We are particularly adept at cross-examination about events leading to abuse. We know how to identify the lies and get past them. We review nursing home records, reports, and testimonies in sworn statements and depositions. We poke for statements that make no sense, conflict with one another, and leave gaping holes.

We are committed to handling your case with the utmost compassion. As Chicago nursing home abuse lawyers. our primary goal is the safety of your loved one. That means holding those responsible for your loved one’s neglect or abuse accountable for their actions. We work relentlessly to see that your family receives the compensation you deserve as quickly as possible.

We can also handle arbitrations and appeals.

Get peace of mind

Ring Litigation P.C. can ably take your legal problems off your hands. We know how busy you are already. With a Ring Litigation P.C. Chicago nursing home attorney by your side to handle all the details, you can breathe a bit more easily and gain peace of mind.

Place your loved ones in a ring of care call Ring Litigation P.C.

For a nursing home lawyer in Chicago, rely on the trial attorneys of Ring Litigation P.C. Call us today at 312.781.0290 or contact us online to schedule your free initial consultation and receive your free nursing home checklist. Hablamos espa ol. Parliamo italiano.


Missouri – s DWI Guide #mo #dui #arrest, #first #dwi, #criminal #charges, #sis, #missouri #drunk


#

What is the difference between a DWI, DUI, OWI, OVI, OUI, DWAI, etc.

These terms are all acronyms that refer to the offense commonly known as drunk driving. Different states have slightly different names for the crime. Many states, including Kentucky, Tennessee, Illinois, Kansas, and Oklahoma use the phrase driving under the influence or DUI. Iowa uses the phrase operating while intoxicated or OWI. Like Nebraska and Arkansas, Missouri law uses the phrase driving while intoxicated, so the term DWI is most commonly used here.

The terms DWI and DUI are used interchangeably throughout this website.

I just got arrested for a Missouri DWI. What happens next?

ISSUE ONE: The Missouri Implied Consent Proceeding: Under Missouri s implied consent law, any person who operates a motor vehicle is deemed to have given consent to a chemical test or tests of the person s breath, blood, saliva or urine for the purpose of determining the alcohol or drug content of the person s if the arresting officer has reasonable grounds to believe that they have committed a DWI.

This law requires you to submit to a chemical (breath) test when requested by a law enforcement officer following a lawful DWI arrest. If you refused to submit to the test. your license was likely revoked for one year. If you failed a chemical test (BAC of 0.08 % or greater (0.02 % or greater for persons under 21)), you likely face a 30 day suspension followed by 60 days of restricted driving privileges. [Note: This period is longer if you had a prior DWI type incident in the past five years.]

If you had a valid Missouri drivers license at the time of your arrest, the officer probably seized your license and issued you a 15 day temporary driving permit. You have 15 days from the date of your Notice of Suspension/Revocation is issued (usually your date of arrest) to request an administrative hearing to challenge this suspension / revocation. If timely requested, a hearing is scheduled by the Department of Revenue. The court may issue a stay order allowing you to continue to drive until the court issues its final order on your challenge.

If the court rules in your favor, the suspension / revocation is canceled and your license is returned. If the court denies your challenge, you will serve the remaining time for the original revocation period. You will then need to meet the reinstatement requirements.

ISSUE TWO: The Missouri DWI / Excessive BAC Criminal Offense: Separate from the administrative (implied consent) suspension /revocation is the criminal charge for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving with excessive blood alcohol content (BAC).

Under Missouri law, it is unlawful for a person to operate a motor vehicle while in an intoxicated or drugged condition. A person is in an intoxicated condition when he is under the influence of alcohol, a controlled substance, or drug, or any combination.

It is also unlawful for a person to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 percent or greater. This offense is known as driving with excessive blood alcohol content sometimes referred to as a per se DWI.

Important: The implied consent revocation / suspension and the criminal DWI case are completely separate proceedings from one another.

Will my Missouri drivers license be revoked or suspended?

RELATED TO ISSUE ONE ABOVE: Your Missouri drivers license (or your right to drive in Missouri if you do not have a valid Missouri operators license) may be revoked for one year under implied consent law for refusing to submit to a chemical (breath) test. If you failed a breath test (or other chemical test), you generally face a shorter suspension / revocation (depending on your five year DWI history).

RELATED TO ISSUE TWO ABOVE: If you are convicted of the Missouri DWI offense or Excessive BAC offense, you will also lose your Missouri drivers license (or your right to drive in Missouri if you don t have a valid Missouri license) for 30 days followed by 60 days of restricted driving privileges. If this is your second conviction, you face a license revocation ranging from one to five years. Talk to your Missouri DWI attorney for possible revocation lengths for your situation.

Please keep in mind that your Missouri drivers license can be suspended for a variety of reasons unrelated to a DWI / Excessive BAC arrest e.g. excessive points on your license, etc.

I have a Missouri commercial driver license (CDL). How long will my CDL be suspended for a DWI conviction?

For a first DWI conviction in Missouri your CDL will be suspended for one year (regardless of whether you re driving a commercial vehicle at the time of the offense). For a second DWI your Missouri CDL will be revoked for life. Additionally, courts are not allowed to defer imposition of sentence, suspend imposition of sentence, or allow a Missouri CDL holder to enter into a diversion program that prevents a traffic conviction, in any type of vehicle, from appearing on the person s driving record.

What happens if I get caught driving while my license is revoked or suspended?

Driving while revoked should be avoided as it is a new new criminal offense. Penalties include fines and jail time. Further, if you are on probation for the DWI / Excessive BAC offense when you re arrested for driving while revoked, you will face a probation violation allegation as well. Speak to a Missouri DWI lawyer about specific penalties that you may face.

I really need to drive. Will I be able to get a restricted license / hardship permit / limited driving privileges?

If you face a suspension or revocation in the State of Missouri you may qualify for limited driving privileges (LDP). An LDP allows you to drive to and from work, to school, to treatment, and several other places. It does not allow for unlimited driving however.

There is often a waiting period (typically 30 to 90 days) before you become eligible for LDP. You may not be eligible for LDP if you have an extensive DWI history. Also, limited driving privileges are NOT available to drive commercial vehicles. You will have to file an SR-22 (more on that below) if you apply for limited driving privileges.

Talk to your Missouri DWI lawyer about whether you qualify and how to apply for a limited driving privileges.

Is a DWI / Excessive BAC offense in Missouri a misdemeanor or felony charge?

In the State of Missouri, a DWI or an Excessive BAC is usually a misdemeanor charge if this is your first offense or you are a prior offender. However, if you are a persistent offender, an aggravated offender, or a chronic offender, the charge is a felony offense. See the chart below for more on what these terms mean.

What type of penalties might I face if I am convicted of a Missouri DWI or Excessive BAC offense?

Upon conviction of an Missouri DWI / Excessive BAC offense, a defendant can receive a variety of penalties including probation and alcohol education and treatment (Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP)). A range of minimum penalties is set forth below:


Memphis Criminal Law Attorney #criminal #defense #attorney #memphis,criminal #defense #lawyer #germantown,criminal #defense #attorney #collierville,domestic #assault


#

Memphis Criminal Defense Attorney

Criminal Defense Lawyer in Memphis, Tennessee

Attorney Matt Gulotta handles all types of criminal cases in the Memphis, Tennessee area, including the courts at 201 Poplar, as well as Germantown and Collierville. He is familiar with many of the judges and prosecutors who are so important to the fair disposition of a criminal case, and will fight for your rights and for justice, even if the police, adverse witnesses, and prosecution are diligently arguing against your case and are seeking a criminal conviction.

Anyone facing a criminal charge should not delay, and hire a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. A case may be quickly resolved with dismissal, plea agreement, or other settlement, or it may require weeks, months or years to prepare for a complex contested trial. Despite the differences in factual circumstances of your case. the sooner that you hire an attorney, the faster your case will likely be resolved, and the more likely that your defense attorney will be able to achieve the best outcome available in your case s unique circumstances.

Please fill out the Contact Form below if you have any questions or need representation on a general sessions criminal, or criminal court case involving a misdemeanor or felony charge.
Notice: JavaScript is required for this content.

List of Tennessee Criminal Offenses

Burglary, reckless driving, selling alcohol to a minor, violation of financial law, viol of vehicle registration law, disorderly conduct, criminal tresspass, public intoxication, refusal to submit to bac test, driving u/influence intox/drugs, poss of cont substance marijuana, violation of probation, improper passing on left, assault-bodily harm, aggravated assault, aggravated burglary, criminal trespass, operate car w/reflectorized windows, fail to exercise due care, passing bad checks, gambling, reckless driving, contempt of court, criminal attempt or solicitation, domestic violence, child abuse, false imprisonment, forgery, identity theft, recklesss endangerment, poss cocaine w/i manufacture/sell/deliver, possession marijuana w/i man/del/sell,accessory after the fact, drug paraphernalia, driving while habitual motor vehicle offender, illegal poss credit/debit card, poss firearm/commission of felony, taking contraband into penal facility, tampering with/fabricating evidence, prostitution, money laundering, child abuse and neglect, evading arrest, resisting lawful detention, fugitive from justice without warrant, burglary motor vehicle, aggravated robbery, criminal attempt second degree murder, aggravated statutory rape, sexual battery, robbery, vandalism, carjacking, violate bail conditions, and many other misdemeanors and felonies.


Uncontested Divorce – DIY Forms #court, #courts, #new #york, #new #york #state, #new #york #city,


#

Uncontested Divorce Program

Aviso: Este programa es en ingl s, pero obtendr su traducci n al pulsar sobre ESPA OL. Deber responder en ingl s o el tribunal rechazar sus documentos.

An “uncontested” divorce is where both you and the person you want to divorce agree to divorce and there is an agreement about what will happen to your finances and property after the divorce. [Learn more about Divorce ]

You can use this program if:

  • You and the person you want to divorce are over 18 years of age,
  • You and the person you want to divorce have no “children” under 21 years of age ,
  • Your marriage has been over for at least 6 months and your relationship can’t be saved, AND
  • All marital property issues, including debt, have been settled.

Information Checklist

You will need the following information with you when you use this program:

  • The name, previous last names (if any), current address, social security number, and phone number of the person you want to divorce.
  • A copy of your marriage certificate.
  • If you have any of the following: Settlement Agreement, Order of Protection, etc.
  • If you have an extreme financial hardship and can’t afford the court fees: information about your income, the things you own, and how much you spend a month on utilities and rent.

Download and print the checklist of information you will need to complete this program.

Start

Note: You will be taken to our partner website called LawHelp Interactive.

You can Sign Up to Save Your Work or go directly to the program without signing up by clicking on Get Started or Go . Then check to agree to the Terms of Use and click on Continue to begin the program.

About DIY Forms

Who Can Use These Programs?
You can use DIY Forms if:

  • you’re a court user and you don’t have a lawyer;
  • you’re a legal services provider;
  • you’re a pro bono lawyer. Pro bono lawyers filing a DIY Form must submit thispro bono affirmation .
  • you’re from a low-bono (reduced fee) program recognized and authorized to use the DIY Form programs by the NYS Courts Access to Justice Program. You must submit this low-bono affirmation with the filing.

Commercial use is prohibited and no one may charge for using these programs. When you begin the program, you will be asked to accept these terms of use.

Computer Requirements
In order to use DIY Form programs, make sure you have the following:

Note: If you’re on a Mac and do not have Microsoft Word, this program will not work for you.

Help Using DIY Forms
See Frequently Asked Questions for help using DIY Form programs.

Related Information: