Confessions Of An Insurance Claims Adjuster, auto claims adjuster jobs.#Auto #claims #adjuster #jobs


Confessions of an insurance claims adjuster

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Photo credit: Frank Veronsky

Ever wonder what it’s like to be an insurance claims adjuster? We asked New York-based Scott Congiusti, assistant vice president of claims for HUB International insurance brokerage, to take us behind the scenes of a claims adjuster’s life.

A lot in common with being a cop

I was working as a police officer in New Jersey when I fractured my back in an off-duty accident. During my recovery, I started looking at what I could do in the private sector and wound up hiring on with Allstate, handling automobile claims. It was a good mental fit because I like figuring things out and I function best under high stress. A mundane, sedentary job would drive me nuts. Strangely enough, a lot of adjusters have a criminal justice degree; they just might not like shift work or carrying a gun.

Every day starts with the hotline

You come in every day and you have a list of automobile claims assigned to you from the 24-hour hotline. If I was lucky, I’d have two or three, but it was usually more. Still, I had more information from the hotline than I did in law enforcement, where somebody would call and say, “There’s a fight in progress,” but you didn’t know what caused it or how many were involved.

More On Insurance:
  • 7 juiciest stories about insurance claims
  • Health insurance claim denied. What now?
  • 6 shadiest auto insurance fraud schemes

Create a news alert for

Camera required, other gear optional

Absolutely the most important tool is a digital camera, cellphone or tablet to capture photos. You also need a lengthy tape measure, and maybe a moisture meter to detect standing water behind walls or under floors. In a catastrophe, you need protective gear and a ladder in case you have to climb on a roof. And regardless of technology, I still carry a notepad, because depending on where you are, it’s not always practical to carry a $2,000 tablet around with you.

Adjuster styles differ by insurance types

There are definitely differences between working for a publicly traded, stock-held company and (and working for) a mutual company where the clients own the company. Stock-owned companies are a little more black and white on procedures, because they’re large and have thousands of adjusters. With mutuals, the policyholder is also a shareholder, so they tend to be a little more flexible. I wouldn’t say one is better or worse than the other. They both get to the same place, just from slightly different angles.

Everybody needs their car claim done NOW!

How are we perceived by the customer? Typically, you’re the answer to their call for help. With an automobile claim, they might need a rental car or body-shop estimate, so it’s more immediate, whereas with someone’s home it is very, very personal — you’re going to be in their house. But at the end of the day, you’re seen in this positive light as the person who’s going to make their life good again.

The rarer the claim, the greater the appeal

The least frequent claims are probably the most interesting, just because they’re different. But they’re also the most disruptive to the policyholders, so they tend to be the most difficult. House fires, for example, are pretty rare — you don’t get a full house-burns-to-the-ground claim very often. They’re very tragic, very personal. There’s a lot of emotion involved, so they’re probably the most difficult to deal with on the homeowner side.

The one claim no adjuster can ever fix

On the auto side, absolutely the worst claims are fatalities. I’ve dealt with quite a few of those. There’s nothing you can say or do to make it better. I can pay them $10 million on a policy or buy them a new car or build them a new house, but it’s never going to replace the person who passed away. It’s never going to fix it, and you’re often left with this sense that you didn’t do enough, because you can’t.

Toughest part about being an adjuster?

The hardest part of my job? That’s easy: living on call. For the last eight years of my career, my cellphone has only been off when my two children were born and anytime I’m on an airplane. Otherwise it’s either on silent or just on, period. My wife’s used to seeing my phone ring at 2 or 3 in the morning and me waking up and going to get my laptop. It seems to be a reoccurrence every single Christmas Eve.

By now, I’m used to it; my family’s used to it. But for somebody coming from a typical 9-to-5 job, it can be very hard to adjust to. The trade-off for me is, I don’t work shifts anymore. Being awakened at 2 in the morning for half an hour is so much better than working midnight to 8 and trying to sleep when everybody else is outside enjoying the sunshine.


Go Solar California, claiming emergency tax back.#Claiming #emergency #tax #back


claiming emergency tax back

Solar consumers are eligible for federal tax incentives for the purchase and installation of eligible solar systems, including both solar photovoltaics (PV) and solar hot water (solar thermal) systems, as well as other renewable energy investments.

The following information regarding taxes, tax credits and depreciation is meant to make the reader aware of these benefits, risks and potential expenses, and help avoid claims by aggressive salespeople. It is not tax advice. Please seek professional advice from a qualified tax advisor to check the applicability and eligibility before claiming any tax benefits or exemptions.

Solar tax credits were enacted in 2008 as part of the Emergency Economic Stabilization Act, which included $18 billion in incentives for clean and renewable energy technologies, as well as for energy efficiency improvements. The 2008 legislation extended the solar investment tax credit (ITC) through December 31, 2016 and made other modifications to the tax credits. Legislation in late 2015 renewed these credits for five years with an incremental de-escalation of the credits. The solar ITC offers:

A federal investment tax credit for both residential and commercial consumers is available for both photovoltaics and solar water heating systems..

A consumer must have a federal tax liability to take advantage of the solar investment tax credit.

Prior to 2009, residential solar installations had a per project cap of $2,000 tax credit. With current legislation, the solar ITC for residential system owners is 30% of the total system cost with no upper limit.

The 30% rate is available for systems placed in service through December 31, 2019. The credit drops to 26% through the end of 2020, then 22% through 2021 before dropping to zero by the end of 2021.

The federal tax credit is a one-time credit, but may be carried forward (and possibly back) if not completely useable in the system installation tax year. Rules about carrying forward and backward may vary between residential and commercial tax filers; please consult a tax professional for the current rules.

Eligible projects may take a “grant in lieu of tax credit” under Section 1603 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Tax Act of 2009 (Section 1603). The 1603 grant program is administered by the United States Department of the Treasury (Treasury). By receiving payments for property under section 1603, applicants are electing to forego tax credits with respect to such property for the taxable year in which the payment is made or any subsequent taxable year.

Residential customers in higher income tax brackets see comparatively more value because residential electricity expenses are paid with after-tax dollars—they aren’t tax deductible.

The IRS current federal tax form for the Investment Credits is Form 3468 is available at www.irs.gov/formspubs.

Business owned systems may also be eligible for MACRS 5-year Accelerated Depreciation using IRS federal form 4562 available at www.irs.gov/formspubs. For more info on commercial tax benefits please contact your tax preparer or a tax attorney.

Municipal and non-profit entities do not have to worry about these tax issues, as they are generally tax-exempt.

The solar system owner has the ability to take advantage of the solar tax credit. Entities without a federal tax liability sometimes use third-party system owner arrangements to install solar since a third-party can take advantage of the solar investment tax credit, passing along some savings to the solar system host customer.

Bonus Depreciation was expanded to 100% for solar projects placed in service in 2011, and 50% for projects placed in service in 2012. “Bonus Depreciation” means acceleration of the otherwise applicable depreciation (not “more” depreciation, but “sooner” depreciation). 100% Bonus Depreciation means that the whole project’s applicable tax depreciation is accelerated to 2011.

Additional Solar Tax Credit Information Resources

Emergency Economic Stabilization Act entire bill, including Division B: Energy Improvement and Extension Act of 2008.

OnGrid Solar, a solar sales software company, has prepared several useful financial resource guides for consumers that are interested in solar financial decisions. See in particular Andy Black of OnGrid Solar’s paper on solar payback.

Tax Incentives Assistance Project for more information on solar and energy efficiency tax credits.

The Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency provides information on all state and federal incentive programs around the country.

2007-2017 State of California, California Energy Commission California Public Utilities Commission, All Rights Reserved | Conditions of Use | Privacy Policy | Accessibility


How are the claims adjusters compensated, Ampminsure, auto claims adjuster jobs.#Auto #claims #adjuster #jobs


How are the claims adjusters compensated?

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Can anyone out there tell me how claims adjusters are paid? Are they on a salary, paid by the hour or paid a percentage of the claim they adjusted or a combination of the said above?

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Most of the inside adjusters, who work for the insurance companies, are salaried. They, generally, don’t earn commissions for the cases. Most of them earn fixed compensation, irrespective of the number of cases they handle.

However, the independent claims adjusters or contractual adjuster are paid on per claim basis. They may earn a percentage of the claims settled, depending upon the nature of the claim.

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Are you aspiring to become an adjuster?

Well, the pay structure of the adjusters varies widely with the companies. And also depends upon the type of claim settlement you are associated with. An auto adjuster may make around $20,000 a year, whereas, the property claims adjusters can make over $40, 000. Do a bit of research on the compensation structure, before joining a company. You can get a fair idea by searching over net.

Register Now to have your Insurance queries solved.

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Ho honestr, it seems that the other posters have guided you quite appropriately.

It can be any of the three ways you have mentioned. There are many adjusters, mostly the independent ones, who earn on hourly basis. The public adjuster may fall into this category as well.

If you hire an independent adjuster, you may also have to bear their travel expenses, in addition to their pay. Therefore, you need to evaluate the worth of your claim before deciding upon hiring an independent adjuster.

Register Now to have your Insurance queries solved.

Auto claims adjuster jobs

if some claims adjusters are paid ascertain percentage of what the actual claim is, what or who stops the adjuster from inflating the cost of repairing the damages and lining his pockets? and don’t say the homeowner because there more than happy to have their 5 or 10 yr. old big screen t.v. replaced with a brand new one. even though their t.v. was not damaged in any way shape or form from their mishap. ie watr seepage into rec room or small kichen fire

Auto claims adjuster jobs

Auto claims adjuster jobs

I think I know what the OP wants from another post.

It does depend. if they work exclusively for one company they are (more than likely) salaried. they may be paid hourly but either way they ARE NOT paid by the claim or the amount of the claim.

Some independent companies pay commission that is a percentage of the total payment. now a public adjuster (in most cases) is paid like an attorney, a percentage of the settlement or on a contingency basis meaning they get nothing if they don’t collect. remember public adjusters are (usually) hired by a person, (that is generally unhappy with the offer their company has made). independent adjusters (again usually) are hired by an insurance company that just doesn’t happen to have an adjuster of their own in the area. these are usually contracted prices. that the ins company pays. to the independent adjuster or appraiser.

If this is an independent adjusting company that has a bad adjuster or one the you think is taking kick backs, not only do you need to notify the owner of the independent company but the insurance carriers that adjuster works for thur that independent company. confusing?

example: ins company ‘a’, has no adjusters within 100 miles of ”po-dunk, missouri’ so they hire, ‘abc indepent adjusting company” that is owned by albert the genius. albert has six adjuster that work for abc, and he assigns claims to them as they come in. albert may pay them by the claim or a flat rate, or even an hourly or salaried rate. ins company ‘a’ calls abert to have one of his adjusters go look at a car/home whatever and complete an inspection and est that is eventually forwarded on to the supervising adjuster at company’a’. albert is paid a fee (usually one that has been nego. and contracted for all their claims in the area), by ins co ‘a’. but barney the bad adjuster is actually employed and paid by albert. understand?

“Never, never be afraid to do what’s right, especially if the well being of a person or animal is at stake. Society’s punishments are small compared to the wounds we inflict on our soul when we look the other way.” Martin Luther King Jr.

Auto claims adjuster jobs


How to Become an Independent Claims Adjuster, auto claims adjuster jobs.#Auto #claims #adjuster #jobs


How to Become an Independent Claims Adjuster

Learn how to become an independent claims adjuster. Research the job description and the education and licensing requirements, and find out how to start a career in insurance claims. View article

An error occurred trying to load this video.

Try refreshing the page, or contact customer support.

Select a school or program

Kaplan University
  • MBA – Finance
  • MBA
  • BS in Business Administration – Risk Management
  • BS in Business Administration – Financial Analysis
  • BS in Business Administration
  • Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, Investment Career Focus Area
  • BSFIN in Accelerated MS Finance
  • BS in Finance
  • AAS in Accounting
  • AAS in Business Administration
  • View all programs
  • University of the Southwest
    • MBA – Self-Designed
    • MBA – Finance
    • View all programs
    • 0:03 Independent Claims Adjuster
    • 2:12 Step 1: Get a Degree
    • 2:44 Step 2: Complete Pre-Licensing
    • 3:53 Step 3: Pass the
    • 5:03 Step 4: Gain Experience
    • 5:40 Step 5: Maintain Licensure

    Video Transcript

    Independent Claims Adjuster

    So you think you might like to become an independent claims adjuster? Independent claims adjusters handle insurance claims for the loss of property, damages, or personal injury. They examine claims, negotiate settlements, and approve or reject claim payments. A claims adjuster may be tasked with interviewing police, medical professionals, witnesses, attorneys, or claimants to compile information regarding accidents and any resulting injuries. The claims adjuster then uses the information compiled from the interviews to complete a report and determine whether and how much to pay a claimant.

    The adjuster must stay abreast of and work within the guidelines of insurance company regulations. Independent claims adjusters can work for many insurance companies, or they can work on a contractual basis in a designated area for one insurance company. Long hours might be worked and adjusters must often schedule their tasks according to the availability of those they need to interview. Additionally, the pay for these workers was higher than the average in 2012, according to the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.

    Career Requirements

    So what are the career requirements for an independent claims adjuster?

    Sources: Online job postings (December 2012), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics

    Step 1: Get a Degree

    Most insurance companies prefer that claims adjusters have an associate’s or bachelor’s degree. Colleges and universities might offer degree programs specific to the industry, such as an associate’s degree in insurance services or a bachelor’s degree in risk assessment and insurance. Coursework is designed to help students gain an understanding of the industry with classes in business, finance, risk management, and law. Some degree programs include an insurance industry internship and licensing exams.

    Step 2: Complete Pre-Licensing

    Approximately one-third of all states require licensing in order to become an independent claims adjuster. In these states, candidates must pass a licensing exam that covers the basics of adjusting, take an accepted course in insurance on loss adjusting, supply character references, be a state resident, submit a surety bond, and meet minimum age requirements.

    To prepare for the test, the applicant can take pre-licensing courses, which are available online and in the classroom through both public schools and private companies. Pre-licensing courses for insurance adjusters are typically around 40 hours long and may be completed in four days to a week. In some states, such as Florida and Texas, completion of a course exempts the student from taking the state exam.

    Success Tip

    Be able to pass a background check. As part of the procedure for applying for a license, applicants usually undergo a background check, which includes fingerprinting and possibly a criminal records search. Certain felony convictions preclude a person from becoming an insurance claims adjuster, according to federal law.

    Find schools that offer these popular programs

    • Auctioneering
    • Business Marketing Operations
    • Fashion Merchandising
    • Hospitality Marketing Operations
    • Insurance, General
    • Marketing for Apparel and Accessories
    • Marketing for Travel and Tourism Operations
    • Modeling
    • Real Estate Sales, Appraisal, and Finance
    • Special Product Marketing
    • Tourism Promotion Operations
    • Vehicle and Vehicle Parts Marketing

    Step 3: Pass the Licensing Exam

    Each state has different regulations for adjusters, with most requiring a license acquired through examinations or by completing the required paperwork along with a fee. The claim adjuster licensing exam format varies from state to state, as does the length and specific content. For example, in California, the areas covered include the Adjuster’s Act, agency law, investigation techniques, and several types of insurance coverage, such as auto, business income, and business owners’ policies. In Idaho, 41 questions test knowledge of insurance terms and related concepts as well as types of policies.

    Some private associations also offer certification, including the International Claims Association (ICA), which provides members with experience and the knowledge needed to be a successful adjuster. The Associate, Life and Health Claims (ALHC) professional designation exam offered by the ICA usually takes two to three months of preparation coursework and certifies members to work as public claims adjusters.

    Step 4: Gain Experience

    Experience through an entry-level position or internship in the insurance field can provide a foundation in the information and specific processes necessary for claims adjusters to do their jobs within the guidelines of the law. Many insurance companies offer internships or trainee positions that provide an inside look into how claims are processed through shadowing claims adjusters. Claims adjusters should have knowledge of how claim quotes work, laws specific to the insurance industry, and medical terms, as well a good sense of debating skills to be able to support claim figures.

    Step 5: Maintain Licensure

    States that require licenses may also require continuing education credits to renew the license. An independent claims adjuster can acquire these credits from Internet correspondence courses and employer-provided training sessions that address new trends in the industry. Credits may also be earned by publishing articles or giving lectures about the insurance claims industry.

    For example, in Minnesota, an independent claims adjuster must complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education courses of which three hours must be in ethics every two years. In California, the requirement is also 24 hours during the 2-year term.

    Success Tip

    Join a professional organization. Organizations, such as The National Association of Independent Insurance Adjusters (NAIIA), offer members opportunities for continuing education, conferences, and courses to enhance knowledge of ethics in the work place.

    Earn a degree, prepare for the licensing exam, pass the exam, gain some experience, and maintain licensure, are the steps on the path to making a great career as an independent claims adjuster.


    Why We Claim Zero Tax Exemptions, Our Freaking Budget, claiming emergency tax back.#Claiming #emergency #tax


    Why We Claim Zero Tax Exemptions

    Claiming emergency tax back

    If you read last week s post, you already know why Johnny and I do our own taxes. We also mentioned that we claim zero tax exemptions. And today we ll explain why we d do such an unthinkable thing.

    Last week, we got our final W2 in the mail, and Johnny could barely wait for dinner to be over before he went to work on filing our taxes. Part of his giddiness stems from knowing that because we claimed zero exemptions, we ve got a hefty tax return coming our way.

    Of course, the government isn t actually giving us money. The money was ours all along. And if we d really wanted it, we could have claimed some exemptions and gotten that money throughout last year. So why in the world wouldn t we just do it that way?

    The Why

    For us, claiming zero exemptions is a surefire way to save up some extra money throughout the year. Let s say our average tax refund with zero exemptions is $3,000. If we chose to claim exemptions, that d be an extra $250/month in our pockets over the course of the year. That money in $250 increments would be so much easier to spend on this and that. But getting $3,000 in a lump sum is much easier to do something productive with — like funding an emergency fund, contributing to a Roth IRA, or putting toward a car fund.

    The Why Not

    Oftentimes, the argument against claiming zero exemptions is this: How silly to loan the government our money that we could invest throughout the year! So let s look at that $3,000 return again. If we deposited $250/month into an account that gave us a 10% return over the course of a year, we d earn $167 total in interest not super compelling. Of course, that s assumed we actually had the willpower to save that extra money and not just spend it.

    When we get our return this year, we re dumping almost all of it into a 529. Would we have used it as usefully if we d gotten it in small increments throughout last year? Doubtful.

    The only time we wouldn t claim zero exemptions and opt for the money throughout the year is if we were trying to put every extra cent toward paying off debt. Then it would make a difference to get that money up front. But if the argument is that you don t want to loan the money to the government BECAUSE IT S MINE? Eh, we ll pass.

    Our Conclusion

    Once again, it s all about money psychology. And in this case, that money is much more likely to be put to good use if we get it in a lump sum at the beginning of the following year. We re not expecting it or relying on it, so it can immediately go toward something useful.

    Those are our thoughts. Now let s hear yours. Why do you claim or not claim exemptions?


    How to File Small Claims Court California, Small Claims Filing, small claims court process.#Small #claims


    small claims court process

    Welcome to smallclaimsdepartment.com.

    Small claims court process

    We’re so glad you found us. Smallclaimsdepartment.com now processes Small Claims cases in the Western United States . We started out Filing and Serving Small Claims cases in California in 1993. The success has now brought us into Washington , Oregon , Nevada , Arizona , Texas , Washington and New York .

    If you’ve found this site, there is somebody (or company) who owes you money. If you entrust us with your claim, we will aggressively, accurately and assertively process your case!

    The motto of smallclaimsdepartment.com has always been:

    We Prepare, File, Serve, File Proof of Services on your case. By the time we are finished, you are ready to go to court.

    Simply fill-out our online questionnaire, sit back and let us do the work.

    Your job: Go to court, win your case, and get back what is rightfully yours!

    Small claims court process

    Small claims court process

    Small claims court process

    Small claims court process

    Small claims court process

    Small claims court process

    Small claims court process

    Small claims court process

    Small claims court process

    Your only responsibility in the small claims process is to

    show up at the hearing and win your case.

    Small claims court processSmall claims court processSmall claims court process

    Small claims court process

    Small claims court process


    Claiming Carer Payment – Australian Government Department of Human Services, claiming emergency tax back.#Claiming #emergency


    Claiming Carer Payment

    The easiest way to claim Carer Payment is online. When you claim, we will ask you for information to assess if you are eligible.

    Before you start

    Information you need for your claim

    You’ll need your:

    • income and assets details
    • bank account details
    • tax file number

    If you have a partner you’ll also need to provide their income and assets details and tax file number.

    Start your claim

    You can claim Carer Payment, Carer Allowance or both online. You must have a Centrelink online account to claim online.

    You don’t need to finish your online claim in 1 session. Your Centrelink online account saves your progress so you can come back to finish it later.

    Start your claim online

    If you already have a myGov account

    Sign in to myGov to link to your Centrelink online account and do your Centrelink business.

    If you have a Centrelink online account

    To do your business online, you need a myGov account and a Centrelink online account.

    If you don’t have a myGov account, create one today. Once you have created your account, you can link it to your Centrelink online account. Watch the video and read more on how to link your online account to myGov.

    If you don’t have a Centrelink online account

    If you’ve been a Centrelink customer before

    You’ll have a Customer Reference Number. Use this to register for an online account.

    This is anyone who’s had a payment or concession from us before, no matter how long ago.

    If you haven’t been a Centrelink customer before

    Visit a service centre and tell us you want to register for an online account. You’ll need to bring photo ID with you.

    This is anyone who’s never had a payment or concession from us before.

    Unable to claim online

    If you can’t claim online:

    Advise us of your intent to claim so that we can backdate your payment where possible.

    Submit your claim with supporting documents

    You need to give us:

    • your claim
    • any other documents we ask you for

    We may ask you for extra documents to help us assess your claim. Provide this to us within 14 days of starting the claim. If you submit supporting documents after 14 days, your payment may start later. You can submit your documents online.

    If you’re using a paper form, submit your claim form and supporting documents by post or to a service centre. We may ask for more information if we need it.

    Sometimes we use documents you have already given us, such as medical reports.

    Proof of identity

    Unless we already have proof of who you are, you will need to visit a service centre and show your identity documents.

    You can only prove your identity in person, not online. You need to do this within 14 days after you submit your claim.

    Other forms

    When you do your claim online, we may ask you to give us more information. You may need to complete some extra forms. We will tell you which ones.

    You don’t need to complete these forms unless we ask.


    Thompsons Personal Injury Solicitors Scotland, injury claims uk.#Injury #claims #uk


    Personal injury solicitors in Scotland seeking justice for you

    We are a leading firm of accident claim lawyers – professional, friendly and dedicated to achieving the best outcome for you.

    We believe that we have achieved this reputation through our passion for justice and our determination to always recover the maximum compensation that our clients are entitled to. If you need a lawyer for accident compensation advice, and ask us to help, we will do our utmost to achieve the best result for you.

    Injury claims uk

    Whiplash and RTA claims

    Whiplash and RTA claims

    Whether you have suffered a relatively minor whiplash neck injury or a car accident has resulted in severe life-altering injuries, our personal injury solicitors are here to listen, advise and represent you throughout your claim.

    Injury claims uk

    Lung disease and asbestos-related conditions

    Lung disease and asbestos-related conditions

    Scotland’s heritage of heavy industry has left a legacy of industrial diseases such as asbestosis and mesothelioma. If you have been exposed to.

    Injury claims uk

    Accidents at work

    Accidents at work

    Whether it’s a fall from height, an electrical accident, ill health caused by work or any work-related issue which has caused you pain and suffering and/or financial loss, Thompsons Solicitors in Scotland can help. Our team is extremely experienced and.

    Injury claims uk

    Medical product claims and clinical negligence

    Medical product claims and clinical negligence

    If you have received a defective medical product or the care and treatment you have received from healthcare professionals has been negligent, then.

    Injury claims uk

    No win no fee

    No win no fee

    We remove the worry from making a claim with our No Win No Fee Solicitors package which guarantees that you will receive maximum compensation with no hidden costs, no upfront outlay, just expert personal injury legal advice and representation.


    New York City Small Claims Court>, small claims court process.#Small #claims #court #process


    Starting a Case

    Anyone 18 years of age or over can sue in Small Claims Court. If you are younger than 18, your parent or guardian may sue on your behalf. Only an individual can sue in Small Claims Court. Corporations, partnerships, associations, or assignees cannot sue in Small Claims Court. However, they can be sued in Small Claims Court. If you are a corporation, partnership, association or assignee, you can bring a Commercial Claim or Consumer Transaction. For more information, click on Commercial Claims and Consumer Transactions.

    In general, the person suing is called the claimant. The person being sued is called the defendant. You may sue more than one person at the same time.

    You must be the proper person to sue in Small Claims Court. For example, if you are involved in an accident while driving an automobile that is not registered in your name, you cannot sue for the damage caused to the automobile during the accident. Only the registered owner of the automobile can sue for the damages caused to the automobile.

    To learn more about bringing a Small Claims Court case, continue reading below. You can also read the law on this procedure, by clicking on Civil Court Act section 1803.

    Small claims court process

    Where to Sue: Venue

    A claimant must begin the lawsuit in the proper county. In general, a claimant can sue in the county where either party resides. If no party resides within the City, the action can be brought in the county where either party has employment or a business address. If the defendant does not have a residence, employment, or have a business address within the City of New York, you cannot bring the lawsuit in the Small Claims Court. To find the location in your county, click on Locations.

    Small claims court process

    Starting the Case

    To begin an action in Small Claims Court, a person, or someone acting on his or her behalf, must come to the Small Claims Court Clerk s office in the proper county and fill out a statement of claim. To find out where the clerk s office is located in your county, click on Locations. To find out when the Small Claims Court Clerk s office is open, click on Court Hours. You may also use an outside service to fill out your statement of claim and electronically file it with the Court. If you are interested in starting your case this way, click on electronic filing.

    The person filling out the statement of claim must be able to explain the reason for the lawsuit, know the amount of the claim, and have the correct name and address, including zip code, of the person or business that is being sued. If you are not sure of the correct name of the business, you should go to the County Clerk s office in the county where the business is located and look up the certificate of doing business, photocopy the certificate and bring it to the court. The person filling out the statement of claim must be able to explain the reason for the lawsuit, know the amount of the claim, and have the correct name and address, including zip code, of the person or business that is being sued. If you are not sure of the correct name of the business, you should go to the County Clerk s office in the county where the business is located and look up the certificate of doing business, photocopy the certificate and bring it to the court. View and print the small claims claim form.

    You can watch a short tutorial to explain how to fill in the form.

    Small Claims Form Instructions:

    Video (run time: 4:52 minutes/seconds, Windows Media format )

    Small claims court process

    You will have to pay the court fee to file your claim. If your claim is for an amount up to and including $1,000.00, there is a fee of $15.00. If your claim is for an amount over $1,000.00 and up to $5,000.00, there is a fee of $20.00. The fee must be paid by cash, certified check, money order or bank check made out to Clerk of the Civil Court. Personal checks will not be accepted.

    The clerk will give you a date for the hearing. Small Claims Court hearings are usually held at 6:30 p.m. If you are a senior citizen, a disabled person, or a person who works during the evening, you may request that your small claims hearing be heard during the day. You or the person appearing on your behalf must show proof of age, or disability, or nighttime employment. The proof can be in the form of a letter from your job or from a doctor, a driver s license showing your birth date, or other similar documents.

    If you live outside the City of New York and want to sue a party within the City of New York, you may file your claim by mail. Contact the Small Claims Court Clerk s office in the county where the defendant lives, works or has a place of business to obtain the necessary form.

    Small claims court process

    The court system does not provide electronic filing at this time. However, several private vendors provide this service. The service provided by each of the vendors is different, and you must review their requirements. We advise that you review this entire website, as it offers a lot of information on how to proceed with your case.

    The current vendors are:

    Small claims court process

    Notifying the Defendant

    After your claim is filed, the Small Claims Court clerk will serve a notice of your claim by sending it to the defendant. The notice of claim tells the defendant when to appear in Small Claims Court, and includes a brief statement of your claim and the amount of money you are requesting.

    The notice of your claim will be sent to the defendant by certified mail and by ordinary first class mail. If the notice sent by ordinary first class mail is not returned by the post office within 21 days as undeliverable, the defendant is presumed to have received notice of your claim, even if the notice of claim sent by certified mail has not been delivered.

    If the post office cannot deliver the notice of your claim (for example, the defendant may have moved without leaving a forwarding address), the court clerk will give you a new hearing date and will tell you how to arrange for personal delivery of the notice to the defendant. Anyone who is not a party to the small claim and who is 18 years of age or older can personally deliver the notice of claim to the defendant. The claimant or any other party to the action may not serve the notice of claim personally on the defendant.

    If the notice of claim cannot be served on the defendant within 4 months after you filed your claim, your claim will be dismissed. If you learn new information about the defendant s location at a later date, you can file your claim again.

    A small claims case will not proceed to trial until the defendant has been served with a notice of your claim.

    The defendant may want to file a counterclaim. For information about this procedure, click on Counterclaims.

    Small claims court process

    Preparing for Court

    Before the date of the hearing, you should gather all the evidence that supports your claim or your defense. Evidence may include: photographs, a written agreement, an itemized bill or invoice marked paid, receipts, at least two itemized written estimates of the cost of services or repairs, a canceled check, a damaged item or article of clothing, or letters or other written documents. If there are records that are not in your possession, you may wish to subpoena them to be produced at the hearing date. For information about this procedure, click on Subpoenas.

    You should also prepare any witnesses you plan to testify at the hearing in support of your claim or defense. The testimony of a person who has special or expert knowledge and experience concerning the subject of your claim may be necessary for you to prove your case. For example, if your claim involves the quality of medical care, you must find a doctor who is willing to give an opinion, in court, about the quality of the care you received. While you might find an expert witness who will testify at no cost to you, it is more likely that you will have to pay for an expert witness testimony.

    If a witness, other than an expert witness, will not testify voluntarily, you can serve the witness with a subpoena requiring them to appear in court and testify. For information on how to do this, click on Subpoenas.


    Medicare claims address, medicare claims address.#Medicare #claims #address


    Medicare/Medicaid Crossover Claims

    If the information provided below does not answer your question, please call the TennCare Cross-Over Claims Provider Hotline at: 1-800-852-2683.

    Per Federal Regulations, as defined in 42CFR 455.410(b) . All Providers reported on Medicaid/TennCare claims, whether the provider is a Billing or Secondary provider must be registered as a TennCare provider. Please be advised that electronic claims containing providers who are not registered will be denied and paper claims will be returned unprocessed to the submitter.

    Crossover Claim Pricing Methodology: For Part A, rates obtained from the Medicaid State Plan less Medicare paid amount and TPL. For Part B, rates obtained from applying the logic outlined in Rule 1200-13-17.

    All claims must be submitted on a CMS approved claim form.

    UB 04 (Institutional) Claim Form

    Helpful hints to avoid errors that cause delays when paper claims are submitted for processing.

    • When submitting paper claim, submit original claim form for processing.
    • A copy of the Medicare EOB (and TPL EOB if applicable) is required. Claims received without a Medicare EOB will not be processed and returned to the provider.

    Helpful reminders to avoid errors and delays when submitting a paper claim. (see National Uniform Claim Committee (NUCC) instruction manual )

    • A copy of the Medicare EOB (and TPL EOB if applicable) is required. Claims received without a Medicare EOB will not be processed and returned to the provider.
    • Form locator 17 b – NPI Only/ Blank- Please do not report any Medicaid Provider Numbers and/or UPIN numbers.
    • Form locator 24 J – NPI Only/ Blank- Please do not report any Medicaid Provider Numbers and/or UPIN numbers.
    • Form Locator 32 – Service Facility Location
      • 32 a – Enter the NPI #.
      • 32 b – Enter the two digit qualifier identifying the non-NPI number followed by the ID number.
    • Form Locator 33 – Billing provider Info and phone number
      • 33 a – Enter NPI of the billing provider.
      • 33 b – Enter the two digit qualifier identifying the non – NPI number followed by the ID #.
    • NOTICE: This is to certify that the foregoing information is true, accurate, and complete. I understand that payment and satisfaction of this claim will be from Federal and State funds, and that any false claims, statements, or documents, or concealment of a material fact, may be prosecuted under applicable Federal and State laws. Sample Form

    Adjustment/Void Forms

    Adjustment/Void Forms are for use when either changes to a paid claim are required or when it is necessary to void a paid claim PLEASE NOTE: Denied claims cannot be adjusted or voided.

    Instructions on how to fill out an Adjustment/Void Form are located on the second page/back of the Adjustment Form

    Adjustment Form for Medicare/Medicaid claims